2017-2018 Annual Awards Presented

PEI Mutual Male and Female Athletes of the Year

Supporters of Special Olympics PEI, including athletes, families, friends and donors gathered earlier this week to celebrate another successful year at Special Olympics PEI’s Annual Awards Ceremony.

2017-2018 Award Winners:

Department of Health and Wellness Sport Volunteer Award:  Beth Muggah (Charlottetown)

Dr. Frank Hayden Award: Oliver Venneman (Summerside)

ADL Spirit Award: Heidi Mallett (Alberton)

President’s Award: 2018 SOC Bowling Championships Games Organizing Committee

Facility of the Year: Synergy Fitness & Nutrition (Charlottetown)

David Andrew Memorial Award: Inclusions East (Montague)

Maritime Electric Male Coach of the Year Award: Rickey Burns (Charlottetown)

Maritime Electric Female Coach of the Year Award:  Sarah Profitt - Wagner (York)

PEI Mutual Insurance Co. Male Athlete of the Year Award:  Roy Paynter (Summerside)

PEI Mutual Insurance Co. Female Athlete of the Year Award: Jennifer Hickox (Charlottetown)

Volunteer Pins were presented to those who have contributed 5, 10, 15, and 35 years of service. 5-Year Pins were presented to: Beth Muggah, Chanelle MacIssac, Eva Arsenault, Jamie Henry, Linda Pyke, Norman McIntosh, and Theresa Arsenault. 10-Year Pins were presented to: Fran Gillis, Jamie Matheson, and Velda Gaudet. 15-Year Pins were presented to: Colleen McInnis and Jodi Harper. 35-Year Gift was presented to: CY Holland.

To celebrate the 50th year of Special Olympics worldwide, 5 individuals were recognized with 50th Anniversary Commemorative Awards.  As a Builder: Cecil Villard; As a Champion: Paul Phillips; As a Partner: PEI Mutual Insurance Company; As Stars: CY Holland and Jodi Harper.