Celebrating our Athlete, Coaches, Volunteers and Supporters

Special Olympics PEI Awards

Each year Special Olympics Prince Edward Island hosts an Awards Presentation to honor athletes, coaches, volunteers and supporters for their contributions and successes during the past program year.


2020-2021 Awards Recipients

PEI Mutual Insurance Company Female Athlete of the Year

  • Nominees: Lisa Bernard, Teri Cudmore, Christi-Joe Snyders-Couchman
WINNER - Lisa Bernard


PEI Mutual Insurance Company Male Athlete of the Year

  • Nominees: Jordan Koughan, Shane MacPhee, Shawn Mitchell
WINNER - Shawn Mitchell


Maritime Electric Female Coach of the Year

  • Nominees: Tracey Demeulenaere, Judy Gallant, Ellen Murphy
WINNER - Tracey Demeulenaere


Maritime Electric Male Coach of the Year

  • Nominees: Allan Gillis, Jeff MacKenzie, Larry Robbins
WINNER - Allan Gillis


Facility of the Year

Winner - Elm Stree Elementary


David Andrew Memorial

Winner - leah watts


Department of Health and Wellness Sport Volunteer

  • Nominees: Donna Campbell, Kaylee Doiron, Dave MacNearney
WINNER - Donna Campbell


President's Award

Winner - PEI Automobile Dealers Association


Dr. Frank Hayden Award

  • Nominees: Spencer Hutchinson, Kelsey McCormack, Hailliegh Mill
WINNER - Kelsey Mccormack


ADL Spirit Award

  • Nominees: Mallory Lynch, Amber Metcalfe, Sarah Shea
WINNER - Amber metcalfe
Special Olympics PEI, Annual Awards

Volunteer Pins

Volunteers who have contributed 5, 10, 20, and 35 years of service to the Special Olympics movement are also honored:

5 Years

  • Allan Gillis, Dave MacNearney, Kaylee Doiron

10 Years

  • Lynda Hontscharowicz

20 Years

  • Betty Anne Morrison, Debbie Metcalfe, Janet Higgins

35 Years

  • Peter Howatt


Recognition at the National Level

Special Olympics PEI athletes and volunteers have been recognized on a national level by Special Olympics Canada (SOC). We are very proud of our national award winners:

2021 Rob Plunkett Law Enforcement torch run award

2019 Dr. Frank Hayden Lifetime Achievement Award

2018 SOC Female Athlete of the Year

2017 Frank Selke Fundraising Volunteer of the Year

2015 SOC Female Coach of the Year

2013 SOC Female Athlete of the Year

  • Ellen MacNearrney

2012 SOC Team of the Year

  • Team PEI Curling Team

2011 SOC Female Athlete of the Year

2011 SOC Team of the Year

  • PEI Jays Softball Team

2008 Jim Thompson Award

  • Peter Howatt

2005 SOC Team of the Year

  • PEI Stars Floor Hockey Team

2004 SOC Team of the Year

  • Paul Phillips Rink

2002 Jim Thompson Award

  • Cecil Villard

2000 SOC Female Athlete of the Year

  • Suzie Smith