Board of Directors

Special Olympics PEI is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors operating under the Carver Model of governance. 

Directors are elected for two year terms at the Annual General Meeting.

If you are interested in knowing more, please contact Executive Director, Charity Sheehan at or at 902-368-8919.




Board of Directors

The current members of Special Olympics PEI's Board of Directors are:

Jamie Arsenault, Special Olympics PEI, Board of Directors
Past - President

Jamie Arsenault

Favourite Special Olympics Moment: "My favourite Special Olympics event is the awards ceremony. The excitement of the athletes is contagious and the respect they show each other is unparalleled. It is heartwarming to see the excitement that each nominated athlete shows and even more so to see how excited they all are for the winner of the award. It is hard to leave the event without a smile on your face."

Learn more about Jamie: Meet Jamie Arsenault 


Craig Watson, Special Olympics PEI, Board of Directors

Craig Watson

Favourite Special Olympics Moment: "Being part of Team PEI Mission Staff at the SOC 2020 National Winter Games in Thunder Bay, as well as being selected as Team Canada Mission Staff for the 2022 World Winter Games."

Learn more about Craig: Meet Craig Watson 




Robert Horne, Special Olympics PEI, Board of Directors
vice president

Robert Horne

Favourite Special Olympics Moment: "Summer games in 2018 in Antigonish with my wife and 1 month old baby was a ton of fun. Witnessing the sportsmanship and energy and having all sorts of athletes visit us was very cool."




Clifford Lee, Special Olympics PEI, Board of Directors

Clifford Lee

Favourite Special Olympics Moment: "I always thought that the excitement that is created at the Pep Rallies prior to Team PEI leaving for National Games was exciting and unique. The individual introductions of the athletes, coaches and volunteers and the excitement created is truly amazing. At the Pep Rallies the athletes display the true meaning of sportsmanship."

Learn more about Clifford: Meet Clifford Lee


Special Olympics PEI, Board of Directors, Rebecca Gill

Rebecca Gill

Favourite Special Olympics Moment: "Watching the athletes support each other in their attempts and in their successes, it is powerful!" 

Learn more about Rebecca: Meet Rebecca Gill




Special Olympics PEI, Ellen MacNearney, Board of Directors
Athlete Representative

Ellen MacNearney

Favourite Special Olympics Moment: "Back in 2013 I was named to Team Canada and had the opportunity to compete at the 2013 Special Olympics World Winter Games in Pyeongchang, South Korea in the sport of cross country skiing. I got to meet lots of new friends, and experience a new culture. While I was competing my best friend from high school, Emily Chapman, was there watching her sister, and my fellow Team Canada athlete, Alyssa Chapman, compete in Figure Skating. Emily was there when I won the gold medal in my 1km race!"

Learn more about Ellen: Meet Ellen MacNearney

Melanie McKenna, Special Olympics PEI, Board of Directors
Director at Large

Melanie McKenna (on leave)

bio Coming Soon





Lynda Hontscharowicz, Special Olympics PEI, Board of Directors
director at large

Lynda Hontscharowicz

Favourite Special Olympics Moment: "I have a few but the one that stands out the most is at the Provincial Bowling Tournament. The excitement, expectation and anticipation the athletes have waiting for the ceremony to start. Who is going to win, are they going to get a medal. No matter if they win or not, the athletes cheer for the next winner with so much enthusiasm."

Learn more about Lynda: Meet Lynda Hontscharowicz


Special Olympics PEI, Jackie Charchuk, Board of Directors
director at large

Jackie Charchuk

Bio Coming Soon





director at large

Marsha Cusack

Photo & Bio Coming Soon


director at large

Jason MacLean

Photo & Bio Coming Soon


Kristin Noonan, Special Olympics PEI, Board of Directors
Non-Voting member

Kristin Noonan

Favourite Special Olympics Moment: "I love seeing the athletes’ faces light up with pride, and how competitive they are. Whether participating alongside in fun events, or cheering from the sideline in competition, you can’t help but have a smile on your face, and feel the passion and energy surround you.”

Learn more about Kristin: Meet Kristin Noonan