Congratulations to the Queen Elizabeth II’s Platinum Jubilee Medal (Alberta) Winners


Description automatically generated with low confidence


The Queen Elizabeth II’s Platinum Jubilee Medal (Alberta) in Partnership with Special Olympics Alberta


The Queen Elizabeth II’s Platinum Jubilee Medal (Alberta) was created to mark the 70th anniversary of Her Majesty’s Accession to the Throne as Queen of Canada. To celebrate this historic event, the Medal program recognizes outstanding service from Albertans who, like The Queen, have dedicated themselves to family, community and country. The Platinum Jubilee Medal program was continued as planned despite the death of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II, on September 8th, 2022. 


Special Olympics Alberta is proud to announce the 5 successful nominees who will be receiving The Queen Elizabeth II’s Platinum Jubilee Medal (Alberta) in recognition of their significant contributions (in alphabetical order):


Jodi Flanagan

Paul Manuel

Nicholas Rolfe

Jerry Tennant

Kathy Urquhart


We received 28 nominations from across the province, each highlighting the passion and generosity of spirit we are so very fortunate to have directed at supporting our athletes. Thank you to everyone who took the time to engage in the Medal program and the opportunity to honour and celebrate the work of our dedicated community members.


Special Olympics Alberta would like to sincerely thank members of the Selection Committee, who volunteered their time to carefully review all nominations and ensured their process was guided by the Medal program criteria, as outlined in the Nomination Information Package.


QE2/SOA Jubilee Medal Selection Committee:

Maxx Bouchard, AMC Chair, SOA-Grande Prairie

Anita Norris, AMC Chair, SOA-Edmonton

Karen Saunders, Past SOA Board Chair, Past-AMC Chair for SOA-Calgary

Martin McSween, Head Coach (Alpine), SOA-Drumheller


 A presentation ceremony has been planned for later in December to highlight the recipients’ achievements, as well as the late Queen Elizabeth II’s Platinum Jubilee and the Medal program.


Sue Gilchrist