SO Team Canada Sask. Athletes & Coaches Recognized at the Legislative Assembly

Legislative Assembly Visit

At the 2023 Special Olympics World Summer Games in Berlin, Germany in June, over 7000 athletes gathered to compete on an international stage! Of those 7000 athletes, SOS had 8 athletes and 3 coaches representing Team Canada. On Monday, October 30th, 2023, those 8 athletes and coaches from Team Canada were recognized during the Fall legislative assembly!

Our athletes are truly the heart and soul of the Special Olympics movement. From the time they were seated in the waiting room to being escorted to the assembly room, our athletes played their role as ambassadors of inclusivity. They created true connections with MLAs and guards throughout the entire event. It is true what they say about Saskatchewanians - we care about each other.

It was heartwarming to witness and hear some of the MLAs share their personal connections with our athletes and their families on the legislative floor. Jared Clarke - MLA for Regina Walsh Acres, shared his story of how he met athletes Taylor Carter and Aaron Higgins! Mr. Clark first met golfer Taylor Carter while canvassing door-to-door in his riding. As for powerlifting athlete Aaron Higgins, Mr. Clark shared that he was coached by Doug Higgins (Aaron's father) when he was still playing hockey with his teammate Jordan Higgins (Aaron's brother). Further, during recess, The Honourable Everett Hindley - Minister of Health, took some time to visit with coach Jackie Powell and athlete Tyler Piercy from Swift Current. Needless to say, everyone experienced the true transformative power of sport in the Legislative Assembly.

Our vision is that sport will open hearts and minds towards people with intellectual disabilities and create inclusive communities all over the world. The recognition for our athletes and coaches at the Fall Legislative Assembly is well-earned. It was a great day full of connections and introductions. A big thank you goes out to Honourable Laura Ross, Minister of Parks, Culture, and Sport, for the invite!


In the pictures below:

The Honourable Laura Ross - Minister of Parks, Culture, and Sports (& MLA for Regina Rochdale) | The Honourable Everett Hindley - Minister of Health (& MLA for Swift Current) | Lisa Lambert - MLA for Saskatoon Churchill-Wildwood | Ben Lozinsky | Jackie Powell | Aaron Higgins | Tyler Servant | Megan Penno | Taylor Carter | McKenzie Millar | and Steven Saman