Thousands of Special Olympics BC athletes, volunteers, and sponsors help to inspire greatness within our organization and within our community. Special Olympics BC is proud to recognize the exceptional contributions and achievements of SOBC athletes, volunteers, and sponsors through our five annual awards! 

Meet the 2022 nominees

Get excited to tune in to the virtual 2022 SOBC Awards Ceremony, which will be hosted on this page and on the SOBC Facebook Page during the Special Olympics Global Week of Inclusion (July 18 to 24)!

Special Olympics BC Awards banner


Awards background

  1. All registered individuals of Special Olympics BC have the ability to nominate an individual for the President's Award, Howard Carter Award, Spirit of Sport Award, Grassroots Coach Award and/or Athletic Achievement Award.

    Note: All nominations must be endorsed by the Local before they are submitted to Provincial Office. In instances where the Local Coordinator is nominated, the Regional Coordinator and/or other executive members can endorse the application.
  2. Special Olympics BC will only require two contact names (including name, phone number and e-mail address) to be written at the end of the nomination form in the space provided. These individuals will then be contacted by the Awards selection committee for further information on the shortlisted candidates.
  3. All awards submitted will be held over for one additional year, if requested by the nominator.


If you have any questions about SOBC awards, please contact Leanne Kelly by email or by phone at 778-581-0511.

2021 winners

Meet 2021 Athletic Achievement Award winner Hazen Meade, Campbell River

Meet 2021 Grassroots Coach Award winner Ellen Martz, Quesnel

Meet 2021 Howard Carter Award winner David Wilkinson, Kelowna

Meet 2021 President's Award winner Susan Foisy, Kelowna

Meet 2021 Spirit of Sport Award winner Vincent Li, Richmond

Watch the SOBC 2021 Awards Ceremony

Meet all the 2021 SOBC award nominees


2021 Special Olympics Canada Awards

Huge congratulations to 2021 Special Olympics Canada Athlete of the Year Hazen Meade of Campbell River, and Coach of the Year David Wilkinson!!

Read more


Past SOBC award winners and nominees: