Francis Stanley

Special Olympics Team BC 2020: Cross Country Skiing
Francis Stanley

Special Olympics BC Local:



West Kelowna

When and how did you get involved with Special Olympics?

I joined the cross country ski team when I was 12 years old. 

Will these be your first Special Olympics Canada Games? If not, which other National Games did you compete in, and in what sports?

I have been to the National Winter Games in Corner Brook for cross country skiing and also Antigonish for the National Summer Games with the BC soccer team. 

What were your results in the 2019 Special Olympics BC Winter Games? How did you feel about your performance?

I won three gold medals. I was proud of my results and skied really fast. I was proud of my team and now I am focused on my training for the 2020 National Winter Games.

What does it mean to you to be part of Special Olympics Team BC 2020?

It's a responsibility to represent Team BC and compete to the best of my ability. 

What is your goal for these National Games?

To ski as best as I can and go fast.

What does competing at National Games mean to you?

I will never stop cross country skiing, I love to race.

What do you like most about the sport you will compete in at National Games?

It makes me feel really good. I love being out in the snow and the in the forest.  

What is your favourite Special Olympics experience to date?

Travelling to the World Games in Austria and seeing the beautiful, old country.

What would you tell someone about Special Olympics to encourage them to get involved?

It's a great community, I have made so many friends plus I am healthy because of my training.

What other Special Olympics sports do you participate in?

I used to play soccer, basketball, track and field, and floor hockey. 

Please tell us a little bit more about yourself! What else would you like people to know about you?

I work for Canada Landscaping four days a week and I train a lot. I have a dog called Bone but he's getting old so he can't ski with me any more so I borrow a friend's dog, Riley, and he likes to run and ski with me. I live on my own in my own apartment and I love cooking healthy food.

What is one word you would use to describe yourself? :)