Special Olympics Canada | Olympiques Spéciaux Canada
4364 basketball players

are currently registered with Special Olympics. Basketball is one of the newest sports to be added to our roster.

20,505 volunteers

and coaches deliver Special Olympics programs in hundreds of communities across Canada

Team Canada

Our Team

Dedicated to changing lives

Comprised of a wide variety of backgrounds from across Canada, both those in our national office, as well as our board of directors, share the common goal of improving the lives of those involved with Special Olympics. By overseeing the day to day function, along with the overall future, of the organization, we are a group dedicated to making the lives of others better through sport.

National Office

Consisting of several divisions, the members of our national team have the experience and skills to develop and oversee the programs and services necessary to make Special Olympics Canada an organization capable of addressing the needs of a local community, all while being able to compete on an international level.

Executive Leadership

Sharon Bollenbach
Chief Executive Officer

Marion Joseph
Executive Assistant, Office of the Chief Executive Officer

Financial Administration

Brandur Olafsson
Director, Finance and Administration

Laura Long
General Accountant

Business Development and Marketing

Sarah Eyton
Vice President, Fund Development

Lisa Dunbar
Interim Director, Marketing & Communications

Cary Weingust
Senior Director, Partnerships & Business Development

Angela Reid
Manager, Partnerships & Business Development

Allison Love
Communications Officer

Alexius D’Cruze
Marketing Coordinator

Information Systems

Denise Strong
Director, Information Systems

Andrejs Rubenis
Information Systems Specialist


Blair McIntosh
Vice President, Sport

Tom Davies
Director, Program Development

Marian Coulson
Director, Sport & Competition

Serge Boulianne
Sport Manager (Bilingual)

Rachel Borer
Youth Development Manager

Mike Newell
Sport/Program Coordinator

Sarah Sin-Chan
Sport/Program Coordinator

Special Olympics Canada Foundation

Nycki Etherington

Board of Directors

We are fortunate to be able to draw upon the experience and talents of a committed group of volunteers who provide leadership at the highest level of governance, our national board of directors. They come from a diverse range of industry and professional backgrounds, but are united in their commitment to advance the Special Olympics movement here in Canada.


Mike Lamontagne
Chair & Treasurer

Jason (Jake) Bullen
Secretary, Cassels Brock LLP

Dan Golberg
Past Chair

Chief Charles Bordeleau
Chief of Police, Ottawa Police Services

Matoula Charitsis
President, McLaren Global Sports Solutions Inc

Ernie Eves, Q.C.
Former Premier of Ontario

Gerry Frappier
President, French TV RDS and Vice-President Bell

Daniel Granger
President ACJ Communications

Stewart Johnston
Vice Chair, TSN

C.J. MacMullin
Canadian Progress Club Foundation

Jamie Salé
World & Olympic Champion, Figure Skating

Katie Saunders
Athlete Representative

John Scullion
Special Olympics Canada Foundation

Jason Storsley, CFA
Vice President, Operations Optimization

Mark Tewksbury
President, GTI Inc.

Mike Trojan
Senior Advisor, StraNexus

Dr. Jonathan Weiss
Assistant Professor - York University

Niyousha Zarinpour
Managing Director & Head of Global Subsidiaries Group, Citi Canada