Special Olympics Canada | Olympiques Spéciaux Canada
50 per cent

of Special Olympics athletes work. They are 5 times more likely to work than adults with an intellectual disability not enrolled in Special Olympics.

30 official members

of the Special Olympics Champions Network

Team Canada

Special Olympics Canada New Board of Directors Appointment Announced

TORONTO, ON, Sept 27, 2016 – Special Olympics Canada (SOC) is pleased to announce the appointment of a new Board of Directors Vice-Chair and four new Directors at its recent Annual General Meeting. These appointments replace retiring members CJ MacMullin, Ernie Eaves, Gerry Frappier and Jason Storsley.  SOC would like to thank all outgoing members for their dedication and invaluable contributions over the years.  SOC is extremely grateful for their involvement and impact to the movement in Canada as it has greatly benefited from their passion, commitment and leadership.  SOC would like to announce current board member Mark Tewksbury as the new Vice-Chair and welcome new Board Members Catriona Le May Doan, Donna Carbell, Michael Samoszewski and Peter MacKay.

Mark Tewksbury has been a longstanding advocate and champion for the Special Olympics movement. A member of the Canadian Sports, Canadian Olympics and International Swimming Halls of Fame, Mark has won gold, silver and bronze Olympic medals and is a celebrated speaker, author and television host. He is the co-founder of Great Traits, a training and development company that helps people succeed in competitive, performance-driven environments.

Catriona Le May Doan, a three-time Olympic speed skating medalist, Olympic record holder and Officer of the Order of Canada recipient, has been involved with Special Olympics Canada since 2006. She is a co-chair of the Special Olympics Canada Champions Network and has previously acted as Honorary Coach for Team Canada at the 2013 Special Olympics World Winter Games in Pyeonchang, Republic of Korea. Ms. Le May Doan has had a storied athletic career, winning two gold medals at consecutive Olympic Games in her signature 500m event, and a bronze medal in the 1000m event. She is a Lou Marsh Award recipient and a three-time recipient of the Bobbie Rosenfeld Award for Canadian Female Athlete of the Year. Ms. Le May Doan is a passionate motivational speaker and is actively involved in a number of charitable endeavours across Canada.

Donna Carbell is the Senior Vice President, Group Benefits Canadian Division at Manulife responsible for providing employee benefits to over 16,000 employers in Canada. Ms. Carbell was previously the Senior Vice President, Customer Experience for the Canadian Division, responsible for operational delivery all Canadian Division business units and product lines. Donna has been with Manulife for over 16 years, she holds an MBA from Wilfred Laurier University and a Bachelor’s Degree in Political Science from Carlton University. She played varsity volleyball and basketball and for the past 5 years, has coached club level volleyball for the Kitchener-Waterloo Predators boys team, where her two sons – Jack and Ben, played.

Michael Samoszewski is the Vice President, Sparkling Business Unit for Coca-Cola Ltd. Joining the Coca-Cola Company in 2002, Mr. Samoszewski has held various roles in finance and marketing, including Director of Commercial Finance. Since 2010, Michael has actively developed the Coca-Cola brand in Canada, first as Director of Marketing on the Coca-Cola trademark portfolio, and now in his current appointment as Vice President of the Sparkling Business Unit. Mr. Samoszewski holds a Bachelor of Commerce from the University of Toronto and a Master of Business Administration from Queen’s University. He is originally from Montreal and currently resides in Etobicoke with his wife Lisa and their two children, Kate and Joshua.

Peter MacKay is a Partner in the Baker & McKenzie Toronto Law office. Prior to joining the Firm, Mr. MacKay, PC, QC (Privy Council and Queen’s Counsel), served in the Parliament of Canada for over 18 years and in a ministerial post in the Canadian government for nine years. Most recently, he served as Canada’s Attorney General and Minister of Justice until Nov 2015, and prior to that Minister of National Defense & Minister of Foreign Affairs & ACOA. During his first five years in the House of Commons, Mr. MacKay served as House Leader for the Progressive Conservative caucus & served on numerous House of Commons Committees’ including Sport & Amateur sport in Canada. In May 2003, Mr. MacKay became the Progressive Conservative Party of Canada’s 23rd leader. Mr. MacKay holds a B.A. from Acadia University and a Bachelor of Law Degree from Dalhousie University & worked as a Crown Attorney in his home town of New Glasgow NS.  He is married to Human rights activist Nazanin Afshin Jam Mackay & they have two children Kian & Valentia . He is a long-time supporter of Special Olympics in his home province of Nova Scotia

SOC is delighted to congratulate Mark Tewksbury on his new board executive position and officially welcome Catriona Le May Doan, Donna Carbell, Michael Samoszewski and Peter MacKay to the Special Olympics Canada Board of Directors.

Special Olympics Canada 2016 Board of Directors


Mike Lamontagne, Chair, President
EVP, Etratech Enterprises Inc.

Mark Tewksbury, Vice Chair
President, Great Traits Inc.

Mike Trojan, Treasurer
Consultant, Senior Advisor

Jason (Jake) Bullen, Secretary
Partner, Cassels Brock

Dan Golberg, Past Chair
VP, Corporate Development, TELUS


Catriona Le May Doan
Olympic Medalist

Chief Charles Bordeleau
Chief of Police, Ottawa Police Service

Daniel Granger
President, ACJ Communication

Donna Carbell
Sr. Vice President, Manulife

Dr. Jonathan Weiss
Associate Professor, York University

Jamie Salé
Olympic Medalist

John Scullion
Chair, Special Olympics Canada Foundation

Katie Saunders
SOC Athlete Rep

Matoula Charitsis
President, McLaren Global Sport Solutions Inc.

Michael Samoszewski
Vice President, Sparkling Business Unit, Coca-Cola Ltd.

Niyousha Zarinpour
Managing Director – Global Banking, Citi Canada

Peter MacKay
Partner, Baker & McKenzie LLP

Stewart Johnston
President, TSN