Law Enforcement Torch Run®

LETR Logo

The Law Enforcement Torch Run® (LETR) is the largest public awareness and grassroots fundraising organization for Special Olympics globally. The LETR hold a number of year-round fundraising and awareness events in communities across Canada. The LETR are supported by the Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police (CACP), and have been an active partner of Special Olympics Canada since 1981.

The Torch Run™ is the most well-known event that the LETR host. The Torch Run is an event in which officers run the Flame of Hope™ into an Opening Ceremony at local, regional and national competitions. Grown to include a wide range of regional and national events, the LETR have raised more than $ 63 million in Canada, since its inception.

As retired Chief Richard LaMunyon once said, “What started in 1981…as a flicker of hope for Special Olympics has now become a roaring flame of stability for Special Olympics athletes worldwide.”

History of LETR in Canada

The LETR program first began in Wichita, Kansas in 1981. Toronto police officers Chief Jack Marks (Ret’d) and Lorne White (Ret’d) successfully organized the first Torch Run on Canadian soil in Toronto in June 1987. More than 1,100 LETR officers from 36 agencies took part in the event, covering more than 900 kilometres before arriving into Varsity Arena in Toronto to light the flame, signaling the opening of the International Special Olympics Floor Hockey Tournament.

LETR

Regional LETR Contacts

To learn more about the Law Enforcement Torch Run, please contact your regional Chapter representative below.

Region XI – Canada

Rick Lucy
Coordinator, LETR International Council
Rlucy111@gmail.com

Alberta

Theresa Garagan
Director, Calgary Police Service
Tgaragan@calgarypolice.ca

Kevin Duval
Co-Chair, Alberta Animal & Municipal Enforcement Services
Duval@albertaanimalservices.ca

Lorrie Sitler
Liaison, Special Olympics Alberta
lsitler@specialolympics.ab.ca

British Columbia

Charlotte Taylor
Liaison, Special Olympics BC
Ctaylor@specialolympics.bc.ca

Manitoba

James Couvier
Director-Chair, Manitoba Justice
James.Couvier@gov.mb.ca

Darren Andersen
Liaison, Special Olympics Manitoba
Danderson@specialolympics.mb.ca

New Brunswick

Gilles Cote
Co-Director, RCMP “J” Division
Gilles.cote@rcmp-grc.gc.ca

Daniel Nowlan
District Commander NE RCMP "J" Division
Daniel.Nowlan@rcpm-grc.gc.ca

Josh Astle
Liaison, Special Olympics New Brunswick
Jastle@specialolympics.ca

Newfoundland

Wendy Murphy
Co-Director, Memorial University of Newfoundland
wmurphy131@hotmail.com

Lynette Wells
Co-Director, Memorial University of Newfoundland
lwells130@live.ca

Trish Williams
Liaison, Special Olympics Newfoundland and Labrador
trishw@sonl.ca

Nova Scotia

Mark Mander
Director, Kentville Police Service
mmander@ns.sympatico.ca

Robin McNeil
Co-Chair, Halifax Regional Police
Mcneilr@halifax.ca

Michael Greek
Liaison, Special Olympics Nova Scotia
greekmr@sportnovascotia.ca

Northwest Territories

Lea Martin
Director
letr.nt@hotmail.com

Lynn Elkin
Liaison, Special Olympics NT
lynn@sonwt.ca

Ontario

Kevin MacBean
Director, Peel Regional Police Services
Kevin.Macbean@peelpolice.ca

Cody Jansma
Torch Run Manager, Special Olympics Ontario
codyj@torchrunontario.com

Prince Edward Island

Roger Steadman
Director, Parks Canada
Roger.steadman@pc.gc.ca

Charity Sheehan
Liaison, Special Olympics PEI
Csheehanso@eastlink.ca

Quebec

Shawn Dulude
Director, Surete Quebec
Shawn.Dulude@surete.qc.ca

Marie-Josee
Liaison, Special Olympics QC
mjcarroll@olympiquesspeciaux.qc.ca

Saskatchewan

Landon Giraudier
Director, Moose Jaw Police Service
lgiraudier@mjpolice.ca

Chelsea Fidler
Liaison, Special Olympics SK
cfidler@specialolympics.sk.ca

Yukon

Dan Austin
Director, RCMP “M” Division Whitehorse
Dan.austin@rcmp.grc.gc.ca

Serge Michaud
Liaison, Special Olympics Yukon
Smichaud@specialolympicsyukon.ca